Sleepless Nights 1

I got out of bed and followed the voices to the little passage that linked my room to the sitting room. The bathroom and toilet were on the right, while the sitting room was on the left. They were at the passage struggling with each other.

“Please, leave me alone sweet”, I heard her saying. But he continued.

I went over to help her. I picked up my shoe making to hit his head with the heels but she intervened, even in her distress.

“Ada m stop!”, she said even though distressed, “He’s your father. Don’t do that.”

I was disappointed. He was hurting her, yet she was considering who he was.

“You asked me to leave him? He’s hurting you. Are you sure about this?” I asked her.
“Go into your room Ada m, we’ll sort this out”, she said.

I went back to my room aware of extents I couldn’t go. The nights continued. Several of them. But I had learned to intervene differently – PRAYER.

Mama taught me to pray about everything. She showed me that part of scripture that asked us to “pray about everything”. So I added peace to my list.

Every morning and night, I prayed. I went back on my knees if I missed praying for a peaceful home. In church, prayer meetings, devotions, I prayed.

But peace never came until….

 

Diary of a Church Girl

©Transforming Words Series

Leave a comment