Caught in the Middle

Dear Soul,
I hope you are good? If so, doxology.
Soul, I want to encourage you. I am writing to remind you that you are beautiful and blessed. You are a blessing to your generation. I want you never to be discouraged no matter what you face. I love you forever.
Yours Faithfully,
Adaora.
***

I searched frantically for this letter in my little purse that housed my valuables. I was going to shed a tear when I found the letter hidden in a little torn part of the purse. I unfolded it gently and read its contents again to reassure myself.
***
Mama and I usually sat on the sitting room sofa having a gist about nothing in particular whenever I came home from school. I loved to talk with mama, it was like relaxing with your best friend. We got all playful at times, throwing silly jokes at each other.
My favourite joke was when I said something rather stupid and she’d ask me “ahu odikwa gi?” (that is, “are you alright?”) Then she’ll ask me to come for examination. She’d raise her hand to check how hot my neck was and then she’ll swiftly move to my head to deposit a knock. Then I was always alert to spring away from her when her hand left my neck.
On this particular day, we were together when she asked me to sweep the sitting room. I hesitated, intending to do it at my own pace. I was totally unprepared for the words that followed next. Slowly, I got up from where I sat to carry out her instructions.
***
I sat down quietly in my room thinking through everything mama had said to me. She had blamed me for her marital predicament. They were words too heavy for me to bear.
Did I ask to be born? Did I choose my gender? Did I choose not to have siblings? Am I an evil child?
I must have slept off thinking because when I opened my eyes the sun had gone west and its golden-yellow beam filtered lightly through my curtains.
I got up from bed and began to search my purse for my letter. I needed some reassurance to get ahead with my life.

Leave a comment